Food Waste Friday – The shameful edition

May 7, 2010 at 8:39 am 2 comments

I can’t believe I am going to post this.  I am so ashamed.  We wasted too much food this week.

 

So bad!  There’s the leftover black bean soup that I couldn’t sell to anyone.  Then there were two jars 1/2 full of spaghetti sauce.  Had I thought about it sooner I would have combined them to go on the spaghetti that we had early in the week.  Unfortunately it still would have been wasted because the spaghetti hung around for too long too.

A note about the spaghetti.  We ran out of plastic wrap the same day that I went grocery shopping, of course after I got home.  I decided not to make a special trip to the store for it.  The spaghetti was in a white Tupperware bowl with a blue lid.  I honestly think that because we couldn’t see what was in the bowl we didn’t eat it.  I just skimmed over it whenever I looked in the fridge and I’m sure Mr. D just plain old forgot what was in there.  We now have more plastic wrap thanks to Monday’s shopping trip so I am putting my theory to the test this week.

This post is linked to The Frugal Girl’s Food Waste Fridays.

Entry filed under: Food Waste Fridays.

Random thought (or rant) for today Monday Meal Plan – Week of 5.10.10

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mrs Green @ myzerowaste.com  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Ack! I must have written on another food waste week ! Never mind about this week; the fact that you are aware of where you make mistakes is what counts and you’ve taken action to try and prevent this happening again.

    I’ve been doing this for about a year and last week had a food mountain to throw away – life’s like that sometimes!

    Reply
  • 2. RaisingZandLilC  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:41 am

    You could have sold me on your black bean soup 🙂 I am sure it once was delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


