Make sure to read the labels!

May 5, 2010 at 10:02 am 1 comment

Recently, while doing some shopping at Costco.  I needed yogurt so I decided to check on the prices of the Yoplait that we normally buy.  They didn’t have any (that I could see) but they did have Gogurt.  Gogurt is Little E’s new favorite thing since trying one at a friend’s house recently.  He has been on me about getting some but I made the assumption that they were full of sugar and just plain not good for him.

So I see this huge box of Gogurt and worked up the price and it turned out to be cheaper than the Yoplait when on sale.  Then I read the label.  No high fructose corn syrup which is great, but 10 grams of sugar!  I thought, nah, we will stick to the Yoplait.

When I got home I checked the label of the Yoplait that we had in the fridge.  It’s 99% fat-free.  Good.  Then I look at the sugar – 27 grams!!  Holy cow!  Then on to the ingredients, and yup, it’s got high fructose corn syrup!  I have been so naive!  Needless to say, we have now changed over to Gogurt, and have a huge box from Costco in the fridge now!  I’m sure there are more things that I need to look for on the label, and I am learning, slowly but surely.  For now though, I am feeling better about our yogurt change.

Entry filed under: In the Kitchen.

Stretching Chicken Random thought (or rant) for today

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  May 5, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    I used to keep gogurt in the freezer and give them to my kids as “healthy” popcicles. Then I saw that they don’t have any active cultures. It’s still better than some popcicles but not what I thought I was giving them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


