Stretching Chicken

May 4, 2010 at 8:32 am 1 comment

I am a big fan of eating chicken; an even bigger fan when I get a good deal on it at the grocery store.  I recently discovered a tip that makes me love it even more!

The one thing that I don’t like about chicken breast is how one side is much thicker than the other.  What I usually do is pound the heck out of it to get it all one thickness, which has worked out great in the past.  The only problem is it usually ends up making a bit of a mess, even when it’s contained in a plastic bag, and takes a bit of time. 

This tip is new to me, but may not be to you.  In fact, once I did it, I thought, “duh, why didn’t I do this before?”  I cut the breasts in half horizontally to make them thinner.  (See, I told you.  Duh!)  Best of all it took all of 2 minutes.  So I went from 6 chicken breasts to 6 breasts and 12 tender loins.  Woohoo! 

I used 6 breasts to make Honey Mustard Glazed Chicken.  Then I used the majority of the tender loins to make this recipe for chicken tenders.  They were so good!  I cooked up the rest of the tenderloin to make a chicken salad for my lunches for a few days. 

The best thing was that I waited until after dinner to tell Mr. D what I did.  He didn’t notice a difference and was just as satisfied with what he ate as he normally is. 

How great is that?  I got twice the chicken that I normally do for the same price.  I made dinner for two nights and lunch for two days for me.  I will definitely be doing this will all my chicken!

Entry filed under: In the Kitchen.

Honey Mustard Glazed Chicken Make sure to read the labels!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cate  |  May 8, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    What a great idea! I consider myself a pro at stretching meat, but I’ve never even thought to do this. (Granted, we rarely eat chicken breasts by themselves, but still). I’m glad to hear that your husband felt just as satisfied with the smaller piece–I find that that’s often the case for me. A lot of the time it even depends on the dish I’m eating off/out of!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


