Goal #58 – Organize shelving in garage

April 28, 2010 at 10:34 am 5 comments

We have a pantry in our kitchen that I do not like.  It looks like a normal pantry from the front, but it is on the wall that makes the entrance of our kitchen/dining room area, which is a diagonal wall.  (I know, but I don’t know how else to describe it, lol.)  The result is a pantry with storage space that looks like a triangle.  Wider in the front and the tip of the triangle in back.  So basically it gives me about 1/2 of the storage space a normal pantry would give you.

When we moved into this house there was a bookshelf in the garage right outside the door from the house to the garage.  I decided to use it as an extra pantry.  Unfortunately, we also used it as a “catch-all” for random things in the garage.  It got to be a big mess.  That’s why I listed “organize the shelving in the garage to be a pantry as Goal #58 on my list of 101 Goals in 1001 Days

Here’s the before:

I wanted to shelving to be mostly for extra food.  The boxes in front of it really needed to be sorted and relocated.  Looking at the picture it doesn’t really look that bad, but trust me, it was a major source of discontent for me, lol.

Here’s the after:

Ahh, much better!

This post is linked to Organize and Decorate Everything’s We’re Organized Wednesday.  Check it out for more inspiration in organizing.

Entry filed under: 101 Goals in 1001 days, Organization.

Weekly Goals – Week of April 27th 4.30.10 Food Waste Friday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becca  |  April 28, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    I organized my garage for Leanne’s party too. I hope you’ll stop by and check it out. I’m also hosting a linky party every Friday.

    Becca

    http://becca-homeiswheremystorybegins.blogspot.com/2010/04/organizing-garage-part-1.html

    Reply
  • 2. Grace  |  April 30, 2010 at 6:24 am

    I really like your lists. Does blogging about your tasks motivate you to get them done?

    Reply
    • 3. sfdavis918  |  April 30, 2010 at 7:51 am

      Hi Grace! Yes, blogging about the goals really does motivate me. Just having a place where they are written down is such a help in itself. Then the process of thinking them through and coming up with a weekly plan really gets me motivated.

      Reply
  • 4. Leanne  |  May 1, 2010 at 12:48 am

    First of all, I love your idea of the 101 goals in 1001 days and posting about them is so brave. But it would also make me stay on top of them. We have a really small pantry too. I like that you were able to find extra storage in the garage. It looks great now. Thanks for linking to We’re Organized Wednesday. I hope you have more organizing goals and will continue to join the party. The next one is in 2 weeks.

    Reply
  • 5. Leanne  |  May 2, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Congratulations! You won the “What’s for Dinner?” Cookbook. You will love it. There’s some really yummy recipes and the meal planning is such a huge help. E-mail me your mailing address and I’ll forward it to Jana. You’ll have your cookbook in no time. Thanks for linking to the party. I hope to see you again in 2 weeks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


