Weekly Goals

April 27, 2010 at 6:00 am 2 comments

Do you ever get to the end of a week and look back and wonder what you accomplished?  You had so many plans on Monday and by Friday it seems that you barely got through on the week, let alone anything extra. 

This happens to me all the time.  I often sit at the end of the month and look back, wondering where all the time went, and what I did with it.  I feel like I am at exactly the same place, but a whole month has gone by.

Enter my 101 Goals list.  I started this list in hopes of feeling more accomplished and actually completing some of the things I often dream about getting done.  It’s been over a month since I started the list, and although a few of the easier tasks that could be done in a day have been crossed off, I have not made any headway on any of the items that are more project oriented. 

Having the 101 Goals is great, but without a plan, the 1001 days will go by and I won’t accomplish any of the goals.  I have decided to start setting weekly goals as well, that are based on my 101 Goals.  Each week I will pick one or two of the goals from my master list, break them down into smaller parts, and work on those parts.  In addition to that, I will also have one or two goals that come up weekly that are outside of my master list. 

If all goes according to plan I should start to spend more time on the things that I have decided are important, rather than on putting out “fires” that call my attention, but are not really important to me.

How do you keep yourself in line with your goals?

Entry filed under: 101 Goals in 1001 days, Weekly Goals.

Meal Plan – Week of April 26th Weekly Goals – Week of April 27th

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    What a great idea! I find that for me, simply writing things down and making a list helps so much. Sometimes it seems that I avoid making a list because without a physical list I won’t feel guilty when I slack off!

    Reply
  • 2. Mrs Green @ myzerowaste.com  |  May 7, 2010 at 10:31 am

    brilliant – I love this. I’ve found myself in this position for the past 2 years and decided that 2010 was going to be the year I became organised. I wanted to sail into my 40th year fit and organised!

    Well it’s May and I’m doing ok – I’ve had a couple of serious declutters, I’ve just moved into my office and I’m getting the tools I need such as a white board, a calender, a decent printer – simple things that will help me to be more efficient. Which, as you said free up time for me to do the things that bring me value and meaning

    For goals I have a pending file with everything written down on pieces of paper. I go through it weekly and move things to my ‘action’ folder which become my tasks for that week. It’s all about baby steps and some weeks are better than others. I planned to do the 101 goals but I actually deleted my file just this week because I realised it was overwhelming me. I prefer my filing method 🙂 GOod luck with your goals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


