The Stress of my Disorganization

April 20, 2010 at 11:07 pm Leave a comment

Ugh.  It’s happened again.  I have caused myself and my family undue stress because I am not organized.  Will I ever learn?

Big I has his first baseball game today.  It has been raining off and on last night and today.  Little E is also sick and was up all night with a cough, and miserable this morning with fever too.  With the weather the way it is I was half way figuring the game would be called off, so I never got the snacks.  Not really a big deal since I could have stopped at the store on my way to the game.  However, since Little E is sick, I’m not going to the game. 

I end up making a 1:30 apt for Little E to go to the doctor.  I think to make the lasagna before we go rather than wait until we get home, just in case we run late.  Unfortunately the thought didn’t turn in to action.  After the appointment and getting a prescription filled, AT THE GROCERY STORE, I come home and start making the lasagna.  As I reach for the spaghetti sauce and it’s not there, I suddenly remember that my plan was to make my own sauce!

So had I been organized we could have shopped for the snacks and the spaghetti sauce during the 15 minutes that we were sitting at the pharmacy waiting for our prescription to be filled.  If I could kick myself I would. 

All this results in me feeling bad because I didn’t do what I should have done last weekend at the latest.  It also results in Mr. D stressing because now he is on his way home earlier than planned to stop at the store before the game to get everything.  Oh, and not to mention he won’t be able to eat before the game because there was no spaghetti sauce!

My task for tonight will be to go over our calendar and make lists of things we need to prepare for.  We have more games coming up, I know I planned more things to make from scratch, and next month both boys have their birthdays.  I am vowing right here, right now, I will be prepared!

How do you prepare in advance for these types of things?  Or are you a last-minute Lucy like me?

Entry filed under: Organization.

101 Goals in 1001 days 4.23.10 Food waste Friday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


